Carefree Days


Remember what it was like to run around in your bare feet (honestly, I still do on most days!), to play dolls, make mud pies, and soup from leaves and berries? I remember so clearly picking flowers in a field next to my grandparent’s home as a child. As I watched Ellyn frolic, I thought back to some of those carefree days…long ago!

 

Hannah and I took Ellyn out to this field of flowers beside their home just before it was mowed down. In the next picture you can see Hannah’s (my daughter) bright orange shirt in Ellyn’s eyes.

 

 

Every so often, after I had taken several pictures, Ellyn would run up to me and say, “Let me see myself.” I didn’t even try to pose her – I just let Ellyn be Ellyn.

 

 

I noticed toward the end, as Ellyn’s older brother was mowing around the edge of the field, Ellyn was becoming less and less carefree. Finally she came over to me and said, “He’s going to mow us”. She was fearful. I assured her that no one would “mow” us – but our fun time was quickly coming to an end!

Those beautiful blue eyes looked at me – wanting to trust – wanting to make sure I was going to keep her safe! Look at that angelic face (it’s hilarious to hear her growl at you) – but honestly, I would do anything to keep her safe!

Sometimes we all face fears, some are real – some are unfounded.

I love the verse in Isaiah 41:13 that says:

“For I, the LORD your God, hold your right hand:

it is I who say to you, ‘Fear not, I am the one who helps you.’ “

As I look back on my life, I know that my Heavenly Father has been the one who has taken me by the hand –  been my helper and protector. He has guarded and guided me through deep waters, dark nights, and valleys that seemed too big for me to find a way through.

The other day I mentioned G.K Chesterton, the more I read of him, the more I want to read what he wrote years ago. I’ll close with this.

“One sees great things from the valley; only small things from the peak.”

Let go of the fear…hold on to the one that holds your hand to help you!

Enjoy a carefree day today! Cast all your cares on Him – He’s big enough to carry them!

Sheila

, , ,

One Comment on “Carefree Days”

  1. Norma Teagle
    April 20, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    Hi Sheila,
    I have only been reading your morning inspirational wake-up’s for several days now, and have wondered where I have been the rest of the time????? They are wonderful and, at least for me, very apropos for each day, and the photography is absolutely the best.

    Thank you for reminding me of Isaiah 41:13…if you literally think on each word, you have nothing to fear…who is bigger than our God…no one or nothing!!!! Have a blessed day!

    Norma

Leave a comment