The Storm


We’ve all had  rain fall in our lives. Sometimes it starts as a soothing spring mist that refreshes and invigorates. Other rains are steady downpours that nourish the earth and replenish long depleted water supplies.

Then there are storms; unexpected, drastic, filled with lightning, thunder, strong winds, often ripping trees out by the roots, and leaving debris scattered in their wake.

As storms are allowed to enter into our lives we have opportunities to make choices – choices about how we respond. We can’t and don’t control the storms necessarily (unless we are the whirlwind that sets it all in motion), however, we are always in control of our responses. I tell my girls continually, “No one can make you respond in any way by their behavior, the choice is always up to you.”

Years ago I copied a quote by Ella Wheeler Wilcox. This is what she had to say, “One ship drives east and another west with the selfsame winds that blow. Tis the set of the sails and not the gales which tells us the way to go.”

Another quote that I have kept for years – although I don’t know where I found it is, “Joy is an attitude that is determined by confidence in God.” Do we know Him well enough to rest as Jesus did when the storms were howling on the open sea – or are we frantic like the disciples. One thing I love about that story – the disciples knew who to run to in order to find help! Who do we run to first in the storms?

Now, you may be wondering what this has to do with my picture above! It isn’t a remarkable picture unless you notice the rain bouncing off the leaves of the rose-bush. The day I took this picture a huge storm came up suddenly with big winds, lots of thunder and lightning, and hard rain. I actually like those kind of storms in real weather. Maybe I should have a little more fear of the lightning but I love to watch it!

Naturally, I grabbed my camera and headed out to the front porch to see what I could capture. I was fascinated to see how this new rose branch stood so calmly amid the storm and let the water ricochet off its leaves. While the trees were swaying like crazy, this tiny branch was relatively calm – so much so that the camera was able to capture pretty good details.

You guys know me, I got to thinking….and here’s the rest of the story.

As God allows storms to come into our lives (after all this is not heaven on earth – we are pilgrims passing through to a far greater place) we need to know that we have choices. We are not puppets on strings being pulled and tugged by some cosmic forces. God has given us the ability to respond and choose wisdom – choose to view life from His perspective.

If you’re feeling like you’re in a storm today – read Psalm 46! The Lord is my hiding place and strength in trials. Look to the One who is the source of all encouragement. Then walk with the wise – those who will encourage you along the way!

I’ve gotta run – it seems that’s all I do these days. I miss blogging to you guys.

Set your sails towards the Master this morning! Enjoy the journey.

Sheila

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

