Who Says The Lady Can’t Dunk?


It started years ago.

     First it was jumping to touch the string that attached to the attic door.

          Then it was to touch the top of the door frame – then fingertips to the ceiling – and now the desire to dunk a basketball!

 

As she is entering her teen years she has high goals in this game that has long been a family favorite. Yes, we are a family divided for team allegiance – but we love the sport.

I have friends who complain about hearing the constant pounding of a basketball.  I’ve lived with it so long, I would truly miss the sound if it were gone.

She practices in the snow, the rain, late at night when others are watching movies! She likes the game a little!!

 

As I’m typing this, I’m enjoying listening to my blue-eyed b’ball player practice the cello. I love that life offers so much.

It couldn’t get much better  for the baby of our family. She is loving everything God has set before her and working hard to make the most of every opportunity.

I’m so thankful for the group of girls she has been able to play basketball with this year! Easley Home Athletics has a wonderful program and a great leadership group.

This has been one of Mariah’s biggest growth years – personally and as a player. She still has a way to go – many things to learn – skills to acquire – techniques to hone!

It’s great to hear her dream – and dream big.

     It gets on my nerves when she jumps in the house…just sayin’.

          I’m glad she is a Lady who plays basketball!

               I’ll cheer with all my heart when she dunks the ball…I’m cheering for the tip-in’s now!

Mariah's played on three teams this year - this is the varsity EHA team.

All three teams that Mariah has played on this year have had super wonderful young ladies! Team spirit comes easy when you love your teams.

I don’t know what the future holds in the next 5 years of basketball…but this year has been the best!

Dream Big ~ Work Hard ~ Use Your Gifts and Talents!

, ,

3 Comments on “Who Says The Lady Can’t Dunk?”

  1. Norma Teagle
    February 8, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Mariah,
    Love your energy, spirit, and dedication…not only in basketball, but in the newness of every day. I’m very proud of you and of how you have met the challenges of this past year with enthusiasm and, yes, grace!

    God bless you…
    Norma

  2. SheilaDBBP
    February 8, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Norma, you’re such a good blog follower! I love your comments. Mariah is such a riot w/ her comments, but I see growth even in that area (most of the time)! Life would be entirely too dull w/o our hyper Hope!

  3. Norma Teagle
    February 9, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    Sheila, I love your postings and look forward to them. I learn something new in each one…we think we know individuals very well until, through pictures, we learn new things. It is true…”a picture is worth a thousand words” and you depict all one thousand. My compliments to the photographer as well! Looking forward to the next one. Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

