Beyond Beauty at Home in the Fall


“To everything there is a time and a season…”

 

I love the changing seasons ~ especially when Fall rolls around! Matt and I were laughing (and disagreeing – yes, those two can go together!)  because even though our schedules get more hectic in the fall, I feel more relaxed! I don’t know how that happens but it’s the truth.

We travel to Greenville three times a week during the school year for music purposes – not to mention Doctor’s visits with family that needs transportation. We have NO free weekends from now until Christmas. Yes, life is busy :), but it’s family busy. We’re pretty much all scheduled to a T – so I LOVE the time when the team huddles at the house.

It’s important to me to have a home that my family wants to come home to in every sense – literally. I want their emotions to be at peace here. I want them to walk in the door and see a pleasing home (we don’t need to live in a mansion to love where we live!).  I want them to smell a home that says, “yum”!

I asked the girls some of the things they liked about Fall. Here are some of our responses:

  • Gets darker quicker
  • Muted Colors
  • Trees on the ground…ummm that would be leaves on the ground (guess who that came from???)
  • Smells
  • Thanksgiving
  • Thankful Dinner (Danuser family tradition)
  • Getting pumpkins
  • The crispness in the air

  • Open windows
  • Spice candles

  • Mornings and evenings on the front porch with the outdoor candles lit
  • Sweatshirts
  • Football

  • Watching leaves swirl
  • Going to the pumpkin patch
  • Hayrides
  • Bonfires

I think part of the reason I am more relaxed is that we are back to a schedule. Summer seems to have us running all over the place. When Fall gets here we have settled into home schooling, music lessons, orchestra(s), and church activities. There is excitement in the air because despite the hard work throughout the week, weekends hold special times with family and friends. Lots of memories are made…sweet days!

I’m going to post this last picture for one reason only. It’s not a great picture. I don’t really like it. Emily and I laughed when I saw the picture on the monitor. Yes, our living room is home to two cellos…so ignore the music stand, empty cello holder, (Mariah had her cello at her lesson today) and dark object in the corner (cello #2). I happen to love the music they bring to our home. What makes me laugh is that even though we love to gather in this room, we have devotions in this room, we sing here, we laugh here, we love the coziness of this room, the picture on the wall is ALWAYS crooked! Families aren’t perfect…mine is just perfect for me!

I hope you enjoy your Fall. Bask in every blessing God brings your way…share the joy with others!

From our home to yours ~ Blessings!

Sheila

, , , ,

2 Comments on “Beyond Beauty at Home in the Fall”

  1. beggsbunch7
    September 30, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    I cannot think of Fall without the Danusers in the same thought. I remember the first time we met and your home was so warm and smelled sooo good. What a testimony to your family…..warm with the love and light of Christ….can’t wait to see you!!!

  2. admin.
    September 30, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    Well sweet friend, we have so many memories of you guys and fall too! I think the Pilgrim pie battles and smore goo rank with the top!! I hope we get to relax a little while you’re here!!!! Love to all!

Leave a Reply

