Hannah Noelle


Last Thanksgiving I kept a running post on my FaceBook page of things I was thankful for. I realized several weeks into the posts that I had mentioned more than once that I am THANKFUL for music.

Hannah started on the violin when she was a little girl, 4 years old, and talked so fast we didn’t understand much of what she said.

I remember after she had played about a year the deacons at our church asked her to play for a widows luncheon. Several days later she pulled me aside and said, “Mommy, I don’t want to play my violin for a bunch of spiders!” After explaining everything to her, I laughed, wondering what kind of images her 5-year-old mind had conjured up before she admitted her fear.

I’ve noticed that when Hannah has her violin near her or in her hands, music is coming out – it’s seldom is ever just being held. She’s strumming it, plucking it, or playing it. Over the years it has become her friend.

I don’t think it was always like that for our daughter. There was a time when practice was endured and labored.

Just a few weeks ago I heard violin music but realized it wasn’t coming from within our home. I looked around to find Hannah with her violin and music stand out toward the edge of the yard, playing her heart out. I DIDN’T even think about getting the camera  for a picture – it was too sweet to interrupt, and the music was beautiful. I simply enjoyed the gift she gives us with her music.

Sometimes there are gifts that seems to flow so easily from people. Other talents require much work to perfect. Anything worth doing is worth doing well.

For those of you who have worked to bless others with the wonderful gift of music. Thank you. I can’t imagine what our world would be without it. Obviously, the Bible talks about music being in heaven long before the earth was created. I know that we will all enjoy the ability to sing on key someday :).

But for today – if you’re around me…you may have to endure a little croaking. If you get to hear my daughters or husband, you’ll be blessed! Still, it’s a good day to make music!!

Singing through my day,

Sheila

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

