Brothers


Two boys…I can’t imagine what life would be like with sons. I’ve been around this family enough to tell you that I think it would be fun! I know they know how to have fun…I’ve watched them do it…just don’t ask them to enjoy getting their pictures taken. I mean really, I don’t know too many guys that love this experience.  Big brother was ready to do his part (and he did a masterful job!); he also served as my helper when his little brother just couldn’t muster a smile!

I have never had someone play finger games on top of my camera lens before, but it earned a great smile – so I’ll have to keep that trick in mind for the future!

There are just some days when it’s harder than others to work up a smile!

There are days when we need a brother or sister to come along a lend a hand, a heart, a shoulder – to help us get our focus in the right direction.

Some days, we really need a friend to have a good laugh with and realize “this too shall pass!”

Other times, we need encouragement from deep within the eternal words of Truth – a foundation that is unchanging and steadfast. True friends know  to take us to the Rock that is higher than ourselves.

Then there are times we find comfort in the silence of being with someone who knows us – inside and out! No need to spill the beans, they’ve been spilled for many years. It may be a parent, it may be a sibling, it may be a friend.

 There is, however,  always One who is closer than a brother. One who desires for us to come to Him for comfort, for encouragement, for the ultimate love relationship. 

Hannah Whitall Smith said, “God knows everything. He can manage everything, and He loves us. Surely this is enough for a fullness of joy that is beyond words.”

If you’re having a hard time finding your smile today, there is a Brother who gave His all to give you – not just a smile – but LIFE …abundant and free!

Loving my Elder Brother!

Sheila 

,

2 Comments on “Brothers”

  1. Valerie
    April 23, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    Thank you for those words! And thank you for using my sons as the picture subject for the devotional. I read this aloud tonight at supper and we all enjoyed it very much.

  2. admin.
    April 24, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    You are more than welcome! I’m so glad we had the opportunity to trek around the woods together! Thanks to you guys I’ve found a new jewel – the bridge!! I really appreciate your patience – and as always, I loved spending time with you!!!

Leave a Reply

