Cool, Calm, & Collected!


When I see these colors  and this pictures…I am soothed. There is something inviting – almost hushed about these small flowers.

I found them one day at the Greenville Women’s Center. Hannah has had several of her violin recitals there. It is a lovely old home that is now used for special functions.

Music and art, both have the ability to stir strong emotions within each of us. Both can be calming. On the other hand they can be tools used to stir masses into a frenzy.

Francis Schaeffer, in his series How Should We Then Live, points out the vivid parallels in art and music as it relates to Christianity in our culture. It is a fascinating and extremely enlightening.

As I was searching for a quote (I didn’t find what I wanted), I read some of G. K. Chesterton’s work. He is wonderful. I ran across this quote from him regarding art. I thought about the contrast of this picture with the white and green. I certainly see nothing gaudy about the white – but it stands in stark contrast to the green. This is what he had to say.

“White… is not a mere absence of colour; it is a shining and affirmative thing, as fierce as red, as definite as black… God paints in many colours; but He never paints so gorgeously, I had almost said so gaudily, as when He paints in white.”
Gilbert K. Chesterton

I’m off for the weekend, I have a wedding renewal to cover in Ga. So we won’t meet again until Monday!

I hope that as you go through the days ahead, you allow yourself to be calmed by the master artist. Life seems to be coming at us fast and furious these days. That, my friends isn’t a new thing. There have been raging seas and storms since Adam and Eve ate from the wrong tree.

Yet, in the midst of everything, there is a refuge…where we enter into safety. Life there is cool, calm, and collected – because we learn to live life by the life of another. We learn to trust.

See you Monday!

Sheila

, , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

