Read, Practice, & Do it all over again!


Some of my family is getting as bad as I am about waiting for the next issue of Professional Photographer Magazine to come in the mail! Grace is one of them. As we were both looking it over after church tonight, we decided to “practice” some of the suggestions.

I shoot primarily on location. I don’t have a studio. I don’t really do studio lighting. We tried our hand at studio lighting…in my bedroom – which happens to be pretty small. I was really pleased with the results.

This is the set up for anyone that is interested.

One softbox – high – behind Grace, to my left, basically used as a hair light.

One SB-900 bouncing light into a gold or silver reflector to get highlights in eyes and soften shadows.

I shot with a Nikon 24-70 lens.

It was late!! We had fun!!!

 

Those are the results…at least a few of them.  I am all about learning and growing. In all areas of my life. I’m glad my girls are too!

If you’ve got a great room in your house…and a beautiful child to go with it :), call me and we’ll set up a time to take some sweet pics!

In the meantime, find something that stretches you, something that causes you to extend beyond your comfort zone…grow!

It’s Spring, it’s the season for new things, it’s the season for growth!

Sheila

, ,

2 Comments on “Read, Practice, & Do it all over again!”

  1. Mrs. Jen B
    April 15, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    From someone who has no idea about photography WHATSOEVER (so take my thoughts with a grain of salt!) – this is beautiful! Photography fascinates me but I haven’t got the time or, frankly, the camera to really look more deeply into it. So I have tons of respect for someone who actually tries their hand at it. Way to go, making due with what you had! Isn’t it interesting how simple a photo can look, but it took work with lighting and composition that you didn’t even know about.

    And ps…the eyes on her! Gasp! I’m so jealous!

  2. admin.
    April 15, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    Mrs. Jen,

    I love your frankness.I am amazed as the deeper I get into photography, what actually goes into some of the pictures we see.
    Thank you for taking the time to drop in a leave a note of encouragement. It means so much.
    You’re right about those eyes! We call her our “Victorian girl”. She has that look about her…now personality is another thing :).

Leave a Reply

