“Playing Games at the Foot of the Cross”


I had not planned on using this photo as one of my “Beautiful Moments” pics – but after listening to our choir yesterday morning I changed my mind.

As they sang the song, “Playing Games At The Foot Of The Cross”, I thought back to this picture I had taken on a date with my husband the night before. (He’s really sweet to go on a date and carry camera equipment all over Greenville!)

This church is an old church in downtown Greenville. You can’t get close to it on most days – I think mainly because of the VERY old and unique grave sites that surround the building on several sides.

I guess it’s the symbology that made me put the picture and the song together.

The chorus of this song says, “And they were playing games – at the foot of the cross, So close to His struggle, yet so far from the cost. Never feeling the shame, and never sensing the loss, They were playing games – at the foot of the cross.”

I had to examine my own life, what am I doing that counts for eternity…or am I just playing “games” – living life “my way”. 

Most of my days I’d rather hang out at the empty tomb…and celebrate there with a victory party!! But today, I think maybe it’s important to step back and look at the cross and my life.

Am I accessable, am I alive with the Life of Christ. The sun is setting – the hour is late – BUT the SON is GLORIOUS! It’s time to set aside the games that hold us back – and run for the prize!!

Being Transformed into His Image,

Sheila

, ,

2 Comments on ““Playing Games at the Foot of the Cross””

  1. Shari
    September 27, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Who wrote the song or who sings the song “Playing games at the foot of the cross”? I have heard that song once and would love to get a copy of it.

    • admin.
      September 27, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

      Shari, I’m not sure who wrote or sang the song. I can check with our music director to find out – or I’m sure you could Google it! I think it’s been out there a while. If you don’t find it check back and I’ll have an answer for you! Thanks, Sheila

Leave a Reply

