BEAR with me ~ Please!!!!


Boo Boo & & I - eye to eye!
Boo Boo & & I – eye to eye!

 

I debated about uploading these pictures to the blog. But since some of you who follow the blog aren’t on my FB site I thought you would enjoy them. We have had three bears in our neighborhood this summer. A very large bear, a baby bear, and this bear – which is a medium sized bear. Mariah has named this one Boo Boo!

I heard Matthew calling to me from the carport Saturday night in a somewhat strained voice, only to walk outside and find him watching the bear at the edge of the woods happily munching on our trash. My first reaction was to GET THE CAMERA!!

I don’t know that my husband was terribly thrilled with me :). Boo Boo decided he didn’t like the trash he had carried up into the woods the first time – I guess the jar of Planter’s Peanuts was too hard to open! So he headed back toward the trash cans and us!

Planter's Peanuts must smell good!

Planter's Peanuts must smell good!

 

Back for more???

Back for more???

 

Boo Boo didn’t search too long on his first visit (that we watched). A few sniffs into the trash can and he found a prize…a bag fromm Burger King! TaDA! Poor Boo Boo, little did he know that someone else had enjoyed Burger King before him. Still, off he lumbered with his one small bag – a content, happy bear!!

"Have it your way!!"

"Have it your way!!"

 

Needless to say, the empty bag DID NOT satisfy Boo Boo for even a few minutes so we watched as he made yet another trip to the trash can which was about 15 feet from us. We were not being totally stupid. There was a half brick wall, a large gas grill, and a rose garden between us. As long as I didn’t trip over a cat behind me I figured if anything went wrong, I had plenty of time to make it inside – right?!?! Of course!!

Third time's the charm :).

Third time's the charm :).

 

Don't you have something more?

Don't you have something more?

 

This will do!

This will do!

 

Happy Munching Boo Boo!

Happy Munching Boo Boo!

 

These are a few of the 80 or so pictures I took! Our encounter ended with a bang. Our neighbor and his dogs were out walking when the dogs decided to visit the bear. Pictures were forgotten at that point. Safety became our number one priority.

I just received a call from our neighbors as I am typing this Tuesday morning to tell me Boo Boo was back last night and into their dog food.  He’s such a happy looking bear as Mariah says. I think it’s time he found a new home though. I’ve had my adventure capturing these pictures. I don’t know that I want to meet face to face with the 400 lb. bear that is roaming our woods. Our encounter with Boo Boo has been enough for me to last a good long time.

I hope you have enjoyed the pictures. Leave you thoughts. Your encounters. Your comments – or  counsel haha!!

,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

