KENTUCKY~


 

-2545

A team of 76 left the mountains of SC Saturday morning June 20, headed for the beautiful mountains of Eastern KY. We arrived a little after 3:00 in the afternoon and by 4:00 we were on vans headed out to meet and fall in love with at least one of the communities that each of the three small teams would be serving during the week. Mine happened to be WAY up a mountain – into Tennessee – then back down into KY!

That first night I met a young guy named Nick. As the team cooked hot dogs and played games with the children, teens, and adults, Nick and I got to spend a little time together. Before we left Nick and I had a conversation that went something like this; Nick said, “Can I call you Aunt Sheila?” I said, “Sure buddy that would be fine with me.” Then he said, “Can I call you that all week?” I told him that was okay too. He looked at me with big blue eyes and said, “I’d like to call you Aunt Sheila forever!”  My heart…was gone – and that was just the first night! The great news is that Nick came to know Jesus during the week so that forever isn’t just a “hope so” thing any more!

I worked with the youth in both churches and walked away with a whole new group of friends whom I love dearly.

I’ve always bled KY BLUE – but now more than ever there is a great big chunk of my heart there. It has nothing to do with the UK Wildcats 🙂 – but everything to do with the people – young and old –  their stories  have changed me, challenged me, continue to draw me to the One who alone is able to meet the needs we left behind – in Kentucky.

-2424

Sunday afternoon lunch group pic w/ part of our small team and a few from the area! Love these guys!!

-2491

Bailey walking the railroad tracks in front of Fonde Baptist Church.

 

-2570

We had an extra visitor arrive at the end of our first day of VBS – Nick’s donkey Timmy – Timmy didn’t want to go home!

-2632

 

-2693

 

-2861

 

-3034

Nick and his buddy who led him to Jesus – Andrew!

-3059

 

-3064

 

-3068

 

-2909

I hope you enjoyed a few pictures from our trip. I’d love to share all the goofy shots with you and the moments that made us laugh until we cried – but I decided to share the eyes that touched my heart. I hope they touch yours too.

, ,

2 Comments on “KENTUCKY~”

  1. Kimberly Chastain
    July 1, 2009 at 11:32 pm #

    Love the pictures. Makes me long for my old Kentucky home. Praise God for what He has done. Your blog is beautiful!!!

  2. Norma Teagle
    July 21, 2009 at 9:45 am #

    I also loved the pictures. The kids faces that you fall in love with–Sarah, Trina, Sam, Eli, just to name a few–they, the love of the Lord, and your teammates, draw you back each year. If I had to put this special week into one word, it would be ‘relationships’.

    Thank you Sheila for showing it so beautifully!!!

Leave a Reply

